About the Gala

Wednesday, October 30, 2013
6:30 Cocktail Reception & Silent Auction
7:30 Dinner, Program & Awards Ceremony

New York Marriott Marquis
1535 Broadway in Times Square, New York City (Map)

Limited valet parking available at hotel; additional parking available across from the hotel at Astor Parking (both for a fee)

Attire: Black Tie

The 2013 Annual Gala promises to be a spectacular evening as we celebrate the accomplishments of extraordinary individuals and organizations in our community. Funds raised will support the work of KACF to empower lives and transform communities. More than 1,000 leaders from diverse fields, including philanthropy, finance, healthcare, law and politics, attend this black-tie benefit, one of the largest and most influential events for the Korean American community in the New York City area.

We are proud to present KACF's 2013 Corporate Honoree Award to John Y. Kim, Chairman and CEO, New York Life Investment Management, for his philanthropic spirit and his heartfelt commitment to the mission of KACF. Our program will feature Keynote Speaker, Martha Choe, Chief Administrative Officer of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. Juju Chang of ABC News, will return to emcee the evening.

All funds raised from the Gala will support KACF and our non-profit grantee partners in the Korean and Asian American communities, as well as initiatives for building bridges with other vibrant communities in the greater New York area. Our Grantee Partners focus on health, safety, economic security, inter-community bridge building, and senior and youth empowerment. To date, KACF has awarded $3.3 million to non-profit organizations on the frontlines of helping some of the most vulnerable members of our community.

Dinner Chair
Drew Lawton, Executive Vice President, New York Life Investments

Gala Co-Chairs
Sang Cho, President and CEO, Prestige Corporation
Jeffrey S. Seo, Director, Asian Equities, Standard Chartered Bank

2013 Benefit Committee

  • Sung Kim & Youngsuk "YS" Chi
  • Claudia Y. Pak & Eun S. Cho*
  • James R. Cho*
  • Cay Yoon & Sang Cho*
  • Kyung Hee & Jaesup Choi
  • Julie & Jason Chon
  • Jung Eun Ha & Jay Chun
  • Erica & David Chung
  • Grace & Andrew Chung*
  • Hajin Lee & Michael S.W. Chung*
  • Jeena Y. & Rex R.K. Chung
  • Sunyoung & Eddie Chung
  • Wonah Song & William M. Denkin
  • Jennie Byun & Jalal El Hazzat
  • SungEun Han-Andersen
  • Laura & Mun K. Hong*
  • Clara Chung & Kevin Kim*
  • Michelle & Hoon Kim
  • Gina Chon* & Joseph Kong
  • Susan & Edmund Kwan
  • Joey Lee*
  • So-Chung Shinn & Tony W. Lee*
  • Taeja Kim Lee
  • Grace Lyu-Volckhausen
  • Karen Na*
  • Brigette & Suok Noh
  • Hwa Jin Lee & Chul-Joon Park*
  • Jennifer & Roger Park
  • Jung Lee* & Andrew Sanders
  • Alisa Uri Ko & Jeffrey Seo*
  • Sandra & James Seo*
  • Kyung B. Yoon & George Wang
  • Jun Chul Whang*
  • James Wohn*
  • Katherine & S. Steven Yang*

*Board Member